Success for the Yorke and Mid North at the 2022 Regional Showcase Awards

Media Release: 8/11/2022

Photo: CEO of Regional Development Australia Adelaide Metro Chris Wood, Rural Aid Orroroo Award recipients and CEO of Regional Development Australia Yorke and Mid North Kelly-Anne Saffin.


The Regional Showcase Awards, hosted by Solstice Media and sponsored by the State Government through PIRSA, is an annual event that celebrates the achievements of individuals, groups and businesses that have made significant contributions to regional South Australia. On Friday, 4 November at the UKARIA Cultural Centre in Mount Barker, the 2022 Regional Showcase award winners were announced. Out of seven awards given on the night, four were won by community groups and businesses within the Yorke and Mid North region.


Rural Aid Volunteers helped transform Orroroo, the only South Australian Town to win a spot in the Our Towns Project which included works to renovate the town’s Catholic Church, swimming pool, Country Fire Shed, golf club and installing garden beds. They were awarded the Community Empowerment Award, sponsored by Regional Development South Australia.


My Bundaleer was awarded the Meaningful Connections Award, whilst Kiminnes Ol’ School Shearing took out the Business Innovation Award. The People’s Choice Award went to 5431 Collective in Orroroo.


Chief Executive Officer of RDAYMN Kelly-Anne Saffin attended the celebration evening on behalf of Regional Development South Australia and says “This is a tremendous result for the Yorke and Mid North. We are extremely proud of all our local people who have so much passion for our region and are working on incredible projects. It’s wonderful to be able to formally recognise and celebrate their hard work”


We’d also like to congratulate the following projects which were listed among the 20 finalists; RDAYMN Board Member Lyndsey Jackson, “Transforming viticulture and agriculture through 5G,” Marna Banggara (formerly known as Great Southern Ark), “Brush-tailed bettong baby boom on the Yorke Peninsula,” and Doug Evans, “All railroads lead to Peterborough.”


We would also like to recognise and congratulate Orroroo and Crystal Brook for being named finalists in the 2022 Ag Town of the Year, which was announced at the event and won by Mypolonga.


The original articles and further information for each of the award winners can be found here: