2018 Regional Telecommunications Review

On 30 April 2018, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie, Minister for Regional Communications, announced the commencement of the 2018 Regional Telecommunications Review.

The committee is chaired by Mr Sean Edwards, and the members are Ms Wendy Duncan, Ms Johanna Plante, Ms Robbie Sefton, Ms Kylie Stretton and Mr Paul Weller.

The committee will review telecommunications services in regional, rural and remote parts of Australia. As part of the review, the committee will:

  • consider how regional communities can maximise the economic benefits of digital technologies
  • consider how regional consumers use their broadband services and how they might derive more benefits, and
  • analyse the coverage outcomes achieved through the Mobile Black Spot Program, and examine the extent of the existing gaps in mobile coverage in regional Australia.

The Committee has released an issues paper which provides an outline of key interest areas and invites submissions.

Information on how to have your say and participate in the committee’s public consultations is available on the Consultation page.

Fill out our survey and have your say.